Profile of the Region

MIMAROPA Region is composed of islands and islets stretching across the warm tropical seas south of Southern Luzon. It is made up of the Provinces of Oriental Mindoro, Occidental Mindoro, Marinduque, Romblon, Palawan and the cities of Calapan City and Puerto Princesa City. It is also composed of seventy-two (72) municipalities and one thousand four hundred fifty-five (1,455) barangays. Its northernmost tip is bounded by Batangas and Quezon provinces while the southernmost portion by Panay Island and west by South China Sea. It has a total land area of 2.74M hectares representing 9% of the country's land area.

There are two things that best describe this region, a "food basket" of Southern Luzon and an "eco-tourism hub" of the country. If there is anything MIMAROPA can offer the Philippines and the world, is its culture - the oldest of its traditions, the most colorful of its festivals, the richest and most scenic of its natural attractions, and the warmest welcome from its people.

The Region is endowed with pristine beaches and wondrous natural resources. To name a few, there is Puerto Galera, the pearl of Oriental Mindoro, which is internationally renowned for its white sand beaches and crystal-clear waters, as well as, its spectacular diving sites; Palawan being the home of the world-famous and awesome Puerto Princesa Underground River (PPUR), and the Apo Reef Marine National Park of Occidental Mindoro, the second largest reef in the world, populated by some 385 species of colorful marine life.


Region IV-MIMAROPA was created by virtue of Executive Order No. 103 entitled, "Dividing Region IV into Region IV-A and IV-B, transferring the province of Aurora to Region III and for other purposes" signed by Her Excellency President Gloria Macapagal Arroyo on May 17, 2002. Section 3 of the EO states that Region IV-B shall be known as MIMAROPA and shall be composed of the following provinces and cities: Marinduque, Occidental Mindoro, Oriental Mindoro, Palawan, Romblon, Calapan City and Puerto Princesa City.

The separation of DepED Region IV-Southern Tagalog was only finalized on February 17, 2003 when then Regional Directors, Dr. Paraluman R. Giron and Dr. George R. Garma, took their Oath of Office to lead their respective assigned areas of jurisdiction, DepED Region IV-MIMAROPA and DepED Region IV-CALABARZON, respectively.

The MIMAROPA Regional Office originally held office at DepED Region IV Compound, located at the Rizal Provincial Capitol Compound, Pasig City, side by side with Region IV-CALABARZON. A former DepED junkyard housing male guards along Meralco Avenue was donated to MIMAROPA and it was eventually turned into a beautiful office building through the creative mind of Architect Nestor David (brother of U.P. Professor Randy David) who gave his pro bono services. Upon completion of the renovation, the new Regional Office was inaugurated on October 22, 2003.

Republic Act No. 10879 established DepEd Region IV-B MIMAROPA to be formally known as MIMAROPA Region.


The population of Region MIMAROPA based on the 2015 Census of Population was 2.96 million, accounting for 2.9% of the Philippine Population in 2015. Among the five provinces comprising MIMAROPA, Palawan (excluding PPC) had the biggest population, followed by Oriental Mindoro, Occidental Mindoro, Romblon and Marinduque. The people are typically Tagalog except Romblon which has a mixed dialect of Visayan language due to its proximity to Panay Island.

It is also home to 33 cultural tribes, mostly dominated by the peace-loving Mangyans of Mindoro and the Tagbanua and Palaw’an of Palawan.


MIMAROPA @ 18: Continuing its Positive Evolution and Success

For the last 16 years, DepEd MIMAROPA Region continuously evolved and expanded from once small region into an innovating and ever developing giant, guided by its mantra “In the race to excellence, MIMAROPA knows no finish line.” DepEd MIMAROPA continuously ensures that educational programs are delivered with the best quality and service, and that equal opportunities are provided to its diverse learners – and that no child is left behind.

Through the years, DepEd MIMAROPA Region has welcomed and embraced transformational leaders who are outstanding educators in their own rights --- Dr. Paraluman R. Giron, Dr. Luisa B. Yu, Dr. Sinforosa A. Guiñares, Dr. Caridad C. Labe, Dr. Gilbert T. Sadsad, Dr. Lorna Dig Dino and Dr. Benjamin D. Paragas.

Today, DepEd MIMAROPA Region is led by a visionary leader in the person of Regional Director Dr. Nicolas T. Capulong, competently supported by OIC-Asst. Regional Director Atty. Suzette T. Gannaban-Medina.

Providing access to our learners has always been a difficult challenge due to the geographic dispersion of our lands and waters, but this Region welcomed and defeated all trials, proving that nothing is impossible when you are committed to deliver honest public service. This makes MIMAROPA as one of the stellar regions in the country.